Distinguished Service Award


Distinguished Service Award

Established in 2012, the Distinguished Service Award recognizes individuals who, over an extended period of time, display a continuous outstanding meritorious service in the field of gynecologic oncology.

Selection and Presentation

The Honors and Awards Committee evaluates and nominates potential awardees with the final selection made by the Foundation Council. This award is presented at the Annual Meeting on Women’s Cancer.



  • Clarence E. Ehrlich, MD, University of Indiana School of Medicine
  • David M. Gershenson, MD, The University of Texas MD Anderson Cancer Center
  • Rodrigue Mortel, MD, Penn State College of Medicine
  • John R. Vannagell, MD, University of Kentucky Medical Center


  • James Tate Thigpen, MD, University of Mississippi

2015 (Editors of the journal, Gynecologic Oncology)

  • Saul B. Gusberg, MD, Founder of the journal, Gynecologic Oncology
  • David M. Gershenson, MD, Editor Emeritus of the journal, Gynecologic Oncology
  • Beth Y. Karlan, MD, Editor in Chief of the journal, Gynecologic Oncology

2014 (Founders of the American Board of Obstetrics and Gynecology Division of Gynecologic Oncology)

  • John L. Lewis, Jr., MD
  • George C. Lewis, Jr., MD
  • J. George Moore, MD
  • James H. Nelson, Jr., MD
  • Felix Rutledge, MD

2013 (Chairs of the Gynecologic Oncology Group)

  • John Lewis, MD
  • Myroslaw Hreshchyshyn, MD
  • Robert Park, MD
  • Philip DiSaia, MD