Harry Long Award


Harry Long Multidisciplinary Award

Harry J. Long III, MD, FACP Medical Oncologist SGO Member

Harry J. Long III, MD, FACP

Established in 2013, the Harry Long Multidisciplinary Award recognizes outstanding SGO Members for their contributions to multidisciplinary mentorship, collegiality or teaching in the field of gynecologic oncology.

The SGO Membership Committee conceived this award to honor the spirit of the late Harry J. Long III, MD, FACP, a soft-spoken but authoritative leader. As a medical oncologist member of SGO, Dr. Long’s common sense and wise guidance helped SGO evolve into a multidisciplinary “team-based” organization, and by 2010 the Society expanded its Full Member category to include medical and radiation oncologists and pathologists. The expansion also extends to international physicians and surgeons, allied health professionals and students.

Harry passed away unexpectedly in January 2013, right before he was about to be the first medical oncologist to serve as Vice Chair on the SGO Membership Committee. Harry’s spirit as an unshakeable voice of reason and his unimpeachable sense of fairness endeared him to all on the SGO Membership Committee, and SGO owes its recent incarnation as a multidisciplinary Society to his leadership.

Members in any spectrum of the multidisciplinary women’s cancer care team are eligible for this award. In the spirit of the SGO member expansion, the nomination of non-gynecologic oncologist members is encouraged.

Awardee Eligibility Guidelines

  • Individual has contributed to gynecologic oncology through prevention, screening, research, teaching, treatment, supportive and/or palliative care
  • Individual is a recognized or emerging leader within the gynecologic cancer field or influential in the oncology or women’s health community at large
  • Professional experience, ethics, character, integrity, advocacy activities, personal and civic involvement are taken into consideration
  • Contributions may be local, national or international
  • Must be an SGO Member

Selection and Presentation

The Honors and Awards Committee solicits nominees from the membership at large. The SGO Membership Committee then evaluates and recommends nominees to the Honors and Awards Committee with the final selection made by the Foundation Council. This award is presented at the Annual Meeting on Women’s Cancer. 



  • Gary L. Goldberg, MD, Northwell/Hofstra University, New Hyde Park, NY
  • Anuja Jhingran, MD, The University of Texas MD Anderson Cancer Center, Houston, TX
  • Franco M. Muggia, MD, NYU Langone Health, New York, NY


  • Paul Goodfellow, MD, The Ohio State University, Columbus, OH
  • Wui-jin Koh, MD, University of Washington, Seattle, WA


  • Carol Aghajanian, MD, Memorial Sloan Kettering Cancer Center


  • Gini Fleming, MD, University of Chicago
  • Gillian Monica Thomas, MD, Sunnybrook Odette Cancer Center


  • Linus T. Chuang, MD, Icahn School of Medicine at Mount Sinai


  • Deborah Armstrong, MD, Johns Hopkins Medicine