SGO Names 2016-2017 Board Members

Ellen J.Sullivan, MS, MSJ
Director of Corporate Communications and Advocacy
Society of Gynecologic Oncology
Foundation for Women’s Cancer

SGO Names 2016-2017 Board Members

CHICAGO, IL (February 17, 2016) – The Society of Gynecologic Oncology has announced the results of the 2016 election of the Society of Gynecologic Oncology’s Board of Directors. The Society’s members had record-breaking turnout, with almost 40 percent of eligible voters casting ballots.
The 2016-2017 SGO Board of Directors are:

President Elect II
Carol L. Brown, MD

Secretary-Treasurer Elect
Stephanie V. Blank, MD

Board Members
Michael Frumovitz, MD, MPH
Dennis Chi, MD
Fidel A. Valea, MD

Candidate Representative
Camille Gunderson, MD

Fellow-in-Training Representative
Lauren Prescott, MD

Richard R. Barakat, MD, Chair of the SGO Nominating Committee noted that this election has allowed SGO to achieve complete gender balance on the Board, with eight men and eight women of diverse backgrounds.

“We received positive feedback on the ease of the voting process and the opportunity to review the extensive candidate biographies in advance of the election,” said Dr. Barakat.

“I want to thank my fellow members of the Nominating Committee for their hard work. Difficult decisions must be made to develop a slate from among so many talented applicants,” Dr. Barakat added. “We are fortunate to have so many committed volunteers, and I trust they will remain involved in other capacities. Thanks also to all of our voters. We have an incredibly engaged membership, which strengthens our Society in many ways.”