Volunteerism, Collegiality, Innovation and Commitment Honored

Ellen J.Sullivan, MS, MSJ
Director of Corporate Communications and Advocacy

Volunteerism, Collegiality, Innovation and Commitment Honored at Women’s Cancer Conference

Tampa, Fla. March 22, 2014 — The Society of Gynecologic Oncology (SGO) will recognize excellence in gynecologic cancer research and treatment with the presentation of several awards during the Society’s 45th Annual Meeting on Women’s Cancer in Tampa, March 22 – 25, 2014. SGO’s Foundation for Gynecologic Oncology awards will be presented on Saturday, March 22, during the Opening Scientific Plenary Session.

Groesbeck P. Parham, MD, will receive the Humanitarianism and Volunteerism Award in recognition of his leadership in the CIDRZ cervical cancer prevention program to expand cervical cancer screening throughout Zambia, as well as his extensive collaborative efforts to raise awareness of women’s health issues in Sub-Saharan Africa.

The Foundation announced two winners of the Innovation Award due to the complementary and groundbreaking nature of their work in hereditary cancers. Mary-Claire King, PhD, from the University of Washington School of Medicine in Seattle is being honored for her work to advance the understanding of the role of genetics plays in breast and ovarian cancers. Henry T. Lynch, MD, from Creighton University School of Medicine in Omaha is being recognized for his discovery of Cancer Family Syndrome (CFS), also known as Hereditary Nonpolyposis Colorectal Cancer (HNPCC), commonly known as Lynch syndrome.

A new award in honor of the late Harry Long, MD, recognizes outstanding SGO Members for their contributions to multidisciplinary membership, collegiality or teaching in the field of gynecologic oncology. The first recipient of the Harry Long Award is medical oncologist Deborah K. Armstrong, MD, from the Kimmel Comprehensive Cancer Center at Johns Hopkins in Baltimore, MD.

The Distinguished Service Award honors individuals who, over an extended period of time, display a continuous outstanding, exceptional, meritorious service in the field of gynecologic oncology. The 2014 winners are the founders of the American Board of Obstetrics and Gynecology’s Gynecologic Oncology Division Board: George C. Lewis, Jr., MD; John L. Lewis, Jr., MD; J. George Moore, MD; James H. Nelson, Jr., MD; and Felix N. Rutledge, MD.

Abstract awards from the 2013 Annual Meeting will be presented during Scientific Plenary III on Sunday, March 23. Lead author Amy Armstrong, MD, from University Hospitals Case Medical Center in Cleveland, OH, will receive the 2013 Best Clinical Practice Poster Award for: “Evaluation of the Cost of CA-125 Measurement, Office Visit and CT Scan in the Diagnosis of Recurrent Ovarian Cancer.”

Lead author Melissa Geller, MD, from the University of Minnesota in Minneapolis, MN, will receive the 2013 Best Basic Science Poster for: “Intraperitoneal Delivery of Human Natural Killer Cells for Treatment of Ovarian Cancer.”

The 2013 Best Surgical Film award will be presented to lead author Peter Lim, MD, from Center of Hope at Renown Regional Medical Center, Reno, NV, for “Robotic Assisted Modified Posterior Exenteration with Total Intracorporeal Primary Sigmoid Rectal Anastomosis.”

Several research awards will be presented during Scientific Plenary V on Monday, March 24.  The Wilma Williams Education and Clinical Research Award for Endometrial Cancer, a new grant funded by a donation from Dr. James and Vicki Orr, will be awarded to two researchers:

  • “Feasibility of the Institution of a Combination of Dedicated Nutritional Counseling and Exercise in Stage I Endometrial Cancer Patients Following Minimally Invasive Surgery in the Post Operative period,” Charles A. Leath III, MD, University of Alabama at Birmingham
  • “Preventing Endometrial Cancer through Outreach to Lynch Syndrome Families,” Kristin Zorn, MD, University of Arkansas for Medical Sciences

The Improving Outcomes in Gynecologic Oncology Patients Research Award, which was made possible by a donation from the Gynecologic Oncology Group, will be awarded to three researchers:

  • “Exploring Care Models in Gynecologic Oncology: The Impact of Distance and Demographic Factors on High-Volume Center Care,” Kemi M. Doll, MD, University of North Carolina, Division of Gynecologic Oncology.
  • “The Acceptability and Usefulness of Comprehensive Survivorship Care Plans in the Care of Endometrial Cancer Survivors,” Kristy K. Ward, MD, University of California, San Diego.
  • “Feasibility of Gynecologic Cancer Centers of Excellence,” Jeff F. Lin, MD, Gynecologic Oncology at Magee-Womens Hospital of University of Pittsburgh, Pittsburgh, PA.

# # #

About SGO
The Society of Gynecologic Oncology (SGO) is a 501(c)6 national medical specialty organization of physicians and allied health care professionals who are trained in the comprehensive management of women with malignancies of the reproductive tract. The Society’s membership, totaling more than 1,600, is primarily comprised of gynecologic oncologists, as well as other related medical specialists including medical oncologists, radiation oncologists, nurses, social workers and pathologists. SGO members provide multidisciplinary cancer treatment including chemotherapy, radiation therapy, surgery and supportive care. www.sgo.org

About the Foundation
The Foundation for Gynecologic Oncology is a 501(c)3 organization that ensures that SGO meets the needs and provides the resources for members and the women’s cancer care community. www.sgo.org/foundation