SGO Issues Nov 1, 2018

SGO Issues Nov. 1, 2018

Congressional aide visits Stephenson Cancer Center
SGO welcomes 32 new, 52 transitioning members
Kunle Odunsi elected to National Academy of Medicine
2019 ASCO Election
November 2018 Gynecologic Oncology highlights

Congressional aide visits Stephenson Cancer Center

(L to R): SGO member Lisa Landrum, MD, PhD; Alaura Ervin, Legislative Assistant for Congressman Steve Russell (R-OK); and Wade Williams, PhD, Executive Director of Administration at Stephenson Cancer Center in Oklahoma City.

On Oct. 15, Alaura Ervin, Legislative Assistant for Congressman Steve Russell (R-OK), visited Lisa Landrum, MD, PhD and her colleagues at Stephenson Cancer Center in Oklahoma City as a follow up to the SGO Fly In Day in Washington, DC on Sept. 30, when SGO members discussed supporting gynecologic cancer research with their elected officials.

“Alaura grew up in Oklahoma City and her family is still living in the area, and I asked if she had ever been to the Stephenson Cancer Center,” said Dr. Landrum. “She said she had not and so I invited her to come and visit the next time she was in OKC. She emailed me after the legislative day and told me that she was planning to visit her family, could she come and visit the Stephenson Cancer Center as well.”

During her visit to Stephenson Cancer Center, Ervin also met with Yolanda Duffey, Director of Radiation Therapy and Wade Williams, PhD, Executive Director of Administration.

“The main topic of conversation was regarding the opportunities we are able to offer Oklahomans through clinical trials and enable these patients to stay at home and treat with the most innovative and novel therapies available,” said Dr. Landrum. “We toured the cancer center facilities including the radiation therapy center, the outpatient clinics, the chemotherapy infusion center and administrative offices.”

“In Radiation Therapy we toured the four linear accelerator vaults where we treat 110-125 patients per day, our high dose rate brachytherapy vault where we treat 10-15 gynecological cases per week; our two CT Simulators; and our Mevion Hyperscan proton therapy system,” said Duffey. “When our machine finishes acceptance and commissioning, we will be the first proton therapy center in Oklahoma to utilize pencil beam scanning technology.”

Dr. Landrum said that Ervin expressed an interest in sharing with Rep. Russell more information about funding clinical trials for gynecologic cancers so that the congressman might support or sponsor a letter to National Cancer Institute Director Norman E. Sharpless, MD.

“Alaura seems to be a very willing partner in sharing this with the congressman,” said Dr. Landrum.

SGO welcomes 32 new, 52 transitioning members

From August through September 2018, 32 new members joined the Society of Gynecologic Oncology and an additional 52 members transitioned to the next membership level. SGO congratulates the following new and transitioning members:

New Full Members
Erin K. Crane, MD
Jacqueline Evans, MD

Transitioning Full Members
Mariam AlHilli, MD
Vaagn Andikyan, MD
Matthew Carlson, MD
Britt K. Erickson, MD
Stephanie Jean, MD
Sara Jordan, MD
Kimberly Levinson, MD
Margaret Liotta, MD
Jenna Marcus, MD
Fernanda Musa, MD
Katheryn P. Pennington, MD
Sarah Taylor, MD
Amy Hooks Wallace, MD
Lori Weinberg, MD
Gina Westhoff, MD
Nadim Bou Zgheib, MD

Transitioning Candidate Members
Anna Louise Beavis, MD
Kristen Bunch, DO
Sarah Crafton, MD
Kevin Elias, MD
Erin George, MD
Shannon Grabosch, MD
Kari Ema Hacker, MD
Jean Hansen, DO
Hilary Hinshaw, MD
Marian Symmes Johnson, MD
Sara Lange, MD
Eav K. Lim, DO
Gulden Menderes, MD
Abel Moron, MD
Cassandra Michelle Niemi, MD
Janelle Pakish, MD
Krista Pfaendler, MD
Sharon E. Robertson, MD
Mihae Song, MD
Jolyn Taylor, MD
Taylor B. Turner, MD

New Fellow-in-Training Members
Lindsey Beffa, MD
Ama Buskwofie, MD
Antonio V. Castaneda, MD
Daniel Chan, MD
Chelsea Chandler, MD
Jessica Gillen, MD
Gabrielle Hawkins, MD
Amanda M. Jackson, MD
Anthony B. McDowell, Jr., MD
Leeya F. Pinder, MD
Brandon Roane, MD
Shannon Tomita, MD

Transitioning Fellow-in-Training Members
Ashley Borgstadt, MD
Tara Castellano, MD
Katelyn M. Dorney, MD
Lindsay Ferguson, MD
Whitney Goldsberry, MD
Kristin Gotimer, DO
Max Horowitz, MD
Kevin Kremer, MD, MPH
Michelle Lightfoot, MD
Katherine Miller, MD
Mary M. Mullen, MD
Natsai Charlene Nyakudarika, MD

New Resident/Student Members
Shaina Bruce, MD
Emma Dolan, BS
Danielle Francen, MD
Elizabeth Anne Goulding, MBBS
Mary Meram, DO
Brittany Merrifield, MD
Odinaka P. Mogor, MS
Ashley S. Moon, MBBS
Fiorella E. Reyes-Baez, MD
Michael Richardson, BA
Jennifer Vaz, MD

New Allied Members
Huda Alaeddin, MS, PA-C
Laura Andres-Martin, PhD
Katherine Camp, MS, PA-C
Julie King, MS
Samantha Mozdzynski, PA-C
Mia Sorkin, PA-C
Sarah K. Szczepanik, MS, APRN-CNP

Transitioning Senior Members
Joanna M. Cain, MD
Edward E. Partridge, M
John B. Wheelock, MD

Kunle Odunsi elected to National Academy of Medicine

Kunle Odunsi, MD, PhD, FRCOG, FACOG

On Oct. 18, the National Academy of Medicine announced the election of 75 regular members and 10 international members, including SGO member Kunle Odunsi, MD, PhD, FRCOG, FACOG, deputy director, chair of the department of gynecologic oncology and executive director of Center for Immunotherapy at Roswell Park Comprehensive Cancer Center. Election to the academy — considered one of the highest honors in health and medicine — recognizes individuals who demonstrated outstanding professional achievement and commitment to service.

2019 ASCO Election

The 2019 American Society of Clinical Oncology (ASCO) election opens today. Eligible ASCO members are encouraged to vote now through December 3. Learn more about the candidates, including an SGO Past President, at (ASCO member login required).

November 2018 Gynecologic Oncology highlights

Meeting Reports: Society of Gynecologic Oncology 2018 Annual Meeting on Women’s Cancer: Meeting report J. Alejandro Rauh-Hain, Wendy R. Brewster, Kian Behbakht

Cervical Cancer: A Phase I Evaluation of Extended Field Radiation Therapy With Concomitant Cisplatin Chemotherapy Followed by Paclitaxel and Carboplatin Chemotherapy in Women With Cervical Carcinoma Metastatic to the Para-aortic Lymph Nodes: An NRG Oncology/Gynecologic Oncology Group Study Cecelia H. Boardman, William E. Brady, Don S. Dizon, Charles A. Kunos, Kathleen N. Moore, Kristine M. Zanotti, Cara Matthews, Jonathan A. Cosin, Carol Aghajanian, Paula M. Fracasso

Ovarian Cancer: Randomized phase II trial of bevacizumab plus everolimus versus bevacizumab alone for recurrent or persistent ovarian, fallopian tube or peritoneal carcinoma: An NRG oncology/gynecologic oncology group study William P. Tew, Michael W. Sill, Joan L. Walker, Angeles Alvarez Secord, Albert J. Bonebrake, Jeanne M. Schilder, Ashley Stuckey, Laurel Rice, Krishnansu S. Tewari, Carol A. Aghajanian