Uterine Cancer: Stages

Uterine Cancer

Uterine Cancer Home | General information | Risk Factors | Symptoms
First Appointment | Diagnostic Tests | Stages | Treatment Options | Post-Treatment

Uterine Cancer Stages

Staging is a standard way of categorizing cancers that is used to determine prognosis and treatment. The staging for endometrial cancer is as follows:

  • Stage I: Cancer is confined to the body, or corpus, of the uterus
  • Stage II: Cancer has spread to the uterine cervix
  • Stage III: Cancer has spread to the fallopian tubes and ovaries, vagina, or lymph nodes
  • Stage IV: Cancer has invaded the lining of the bladder or colon or has spread to the upper abdomen, lung or groin lymph nodes

Back: What tests might your gynecologic oncologist perform to determine treatment?
Next: What are the treatment options?