Social Media

Social Media | Primer | Policies and Procedures | Hashtags | Blog | GCAM

SGO members can play an important role in communicating their expertise about the subspecialty of gynecologic oncology. As a medical society with members from around the world, SGO maintains a social media presence with Facebook, Twitter, LinkedIn and YouTube accounts.

Gynecologic Cancer Awareness Month

Throughout the month of September, both the SGO and the Foundation for Women’s Cancer (FWC) will promote Gynecologic Cancer Awareness Month (GCAM) through social media channels and dedicated website content. Health care practitioners are encouraged to share these resources with their patients to increase awareness about all gynecologic cancers.

Social Media Primer

For physicians, there are benefits and pitfalls to having a social media presence. This social media primer will provide SGO members with common sense tips on how to use social media professionally.

Social Media Policy and Procedures

SGO’s official social media policy and procedures provide clear guidance for SGO members when they make posts on social media related to the Society of Gynecologic Oncology.

Social Media Hashtags

If you have a Twitter account, use the #SGOMtg hashtag for tweets about the SGO Annual Meeting and all other SGO live meetings. There is a list of SGO-related social media hashtags that are useful for disease- or event-specific posts.

SGO Blog

The Voices blog offers a personal perspective on a specific issue that impacts the subspecialty. SGO members are welcome to submit their columns to the Voices blog.

#GYNCSM Community

The Gynecologic Cancer Social Media (#GYNCSM) is an online community that consists of gynecologic cancer survivors, patient advocates, caregivers and health care providers. #GYNCSM hosts a tweetchat–a virtual gathering of people discussing a particular subject–on the second Wednesday of every month at 9:00 p.m. EST/8:00 p.m. CST/7:00 p.m. MST/6:00 p.m. PST. #GYNCSM is not managed by SGO, although SGO members frequently participate in these online discussions.