I'm looking for

All News

SGO Issues April 25, 2019

Member Update
Apr 25, 2019

SGO welcomes 106 new, 36 transitioning members
ABMS Approves Focused Practice Designation in Minimally Invasive Gynecologic Surgery
2019 SGO Awards presented at Annual Meeting
Cervical Cancer focus in April 2019 Gynecologic Oncology
Key submission deadlines announced for 2020 SGO Annual Meeting
Responses needed for survey on patient-reported outcomes

SGO welcomes 32 new, 52 transitioning members

From October 2018 through March 2019, 106 new members joined the Society of Gynecologic Oncology and an additional 36 members transitioned to the next membership level. SGO congratulates the following new and transitioning members:

New Full Members

Sudha Amarnath, MD
Mazin Baazeem, MD
Albert James Bonebreak, MD
Robyn Comeau, MD
Miheala Cristea, MD
Kathleen M. Darcy, PhD
Ajay Dubey, MD
Nicole Eiseler, MD
Michael Friedrich, MD, PhD
Gabrielle Gossner, MD
Ying Huang, MD
Stephanie Lheureux, MD, PhD
Natacha Phoolcharoen, MD
Yakir Segev, MD
Mark John Stevens, MBBS, MMed
Danielle Vicus, MD

Transitioning Full Members

Mohammed Ashraf, MD
Christopher Breed, MD
Jennifer Brown, MD
Alexandre Buckley de Mertens, MD
Evelyn Cantillo, MD, MPH

Amy Carroll, MD
Marcia Ciccone, MD
R. Shae Connor, MD
Maria de Leon, MD
Troy Anthony Gatcliffe, MD
Mira Hellmann, MD
Kayo Inoue, MD
Christina Lynne Kushnir, MD, MPH
Beverly Long, MD
Jovana Martin, MD
Cara Mathews, MD
Kathryn Maurer, MD
Megan McDonald, MD
Samar Nahas, MD
Robert Neff, MD
Matthew T. Oliver, MD
Radha Rani Padhy, MD
Lavanya H. Palavalli Parsons, MD
Anna M. Priebe, MD
Brooke Schlappe, MD
Eric Schroeder, MD
Amanda Shepherd, MD
Erica Takimoto, MD
Jennifer Veneris, MD


ABMS Approves Focused Practice Designation in Minimally Invasive Gynecologic Surgery

The American Board of Obstetrics and Gynecology (ABOG) has announced that the American Board of Medical Specialties (ABMS) recently approved a Focused Practice Designation in Minimally Invasive Gynecologic Surgery (MIGS) within the specialty of Obstetrics and Gynecology.

According to the official press release, “It is still early in the process of the program development, and there is a significant amount of work to be done before ABOG is ready to offer the Focused Practice Designation in MIGS. We anticipate that the requirements, applications, and first written examination for the MIGS designation will be available by 2021.”

A Focused Practice Designation enables ABMS Member Boards to recognize areas of specific expertise of diplomates and allows those physicians to concentrate their continuing certification efforts in the area in which much of their professional practice is based. These designations are developed mainly for specialists certified in Obstetrics and Gynecology, and completion of a MIGS fellowship is not required. Many ABOG-certified subspecialists already focus their practice in MIGS as part of the scope of their expertise.

A Focused Practice Designation in MIGS will allow ABOG to provide obstetricians and gynecologists who dedicate a significant percentage of their clinical practice to MIGS to have more relevant and valuable continuous professional development. These Diplomates will have access to journal articles focused on new and important advancements in MIGS through the Maintenance of Certification (MOC) process which they can then apply to their clinical practice.

Any questions regarding the MIGS Focused Practice Designation should be directed to moc@abog.org.

2019 SGO Awards presented at Annual Meeting

During the 2019 Society of Gynecologic Oncology Annual Meeting on Women’s Cancer in Honolulu, HI, the SGO Honors and Awards Committee recognized individuals whose efforts have made an impact on the prevention, care and treatment of women’s cancers. The following individuals were honored for their achievements:

2019 Distinguished Service Award for individuals who, over an extended period of time, display a continuous outstanding meritorious service in the field of gynecologic oncology.
• Wesley C. Fowler, Jr., MD, University of North Carolina School of Medicine, Chapel Hill, NC
• David G. Mutch, MD, Washington University School of Medicine, St. Louis, MO
• Karl C. Podratz, MD, PhD, Mayo Clinic, Rochester, MN
2019 Gynecologic Oncology Humanitarianism and Volunteerism Award for individuals who demonstrate exemplary local, national or international volunteer and outreach efforts in women’s cancer care, research or training.
• Jamie K. Aikins, Jr., MD, FACOG, FACS, Cooper University Health Care, Camden, NJ
2019 Harry Long Award for outstanding SGO Members’ contributions to multidisciplinary mentorship, collegiality or teaching in the field of gynecologic oncology.
• Gary L. Goldberg, MD, Northwell/Hofstra University, New Hyde Park, NY
• Anuja Jhingran, MD, The University of Texas MD Anderson Cancer Center, Houston, TX
• Franco M. Muggia, MD, NYU Langone Health, New York, NY
2019 Innovation Award for individuals who have been exceptionally creative thinkers who significantly impacted the understanding of and/or approaches to the prevention, diagnosis or treatment of gynecologic cancers.
• Christopher P. Crum, MD, Brigham and Women’s Hospital, Boston, MA
2019 Congressional Ambassador Award to recognize SGO members who have worked hard to educate our elected and appointed officials in Washington, DC, to promote health care policy changes and annual federal funding increases to positively impact the field of gynecologic oncology and the women who are impacted with gynecologic cancer malignancies.
• Lisa Landrum, MD, PhD, University of Oklahoma, Oklahoma City, OK
• Emily Prendergast, MD, Minnesota Oncology, Minneapolis, MN

Cervical Cancer focus in April 2019 Gynecologic Oncology

Editorial: The change in landscape after a new landmark is constructed: Radical hysterectomy for early cervical cancer and Minimally Invasive Surgery Mario M. Leitao, Jr.
Lead Article: Comparison of survival outcomes between minimally invasive surgery and conventional open surgery for radical hysterectomy as primary treatment in patients with stage IB1–IIA2 cervical cancer Se Ik Kim, Jae Hyun Cho, Aeran Seol, Young Im Kim, Maria Lee, Hee Seung Kim, Hyun Hoon Chung, Jae-Weon Kim, Noh Hyun Park, Yong-Sang Song

Key submission deadlines announced for 2020 SGO Annual Meeting

For the first time in its 50-year history, the Society of Gynecologic Oncology is hosting the Annual Meeting on Women’s Cancer outside of the United States. The meeting will be held March 28-31, 2020, in Toronto, Canada. All attendees who reside outside of Canada need to apply for a passport (the process takes six to eight weeks in the United States) or verify that their current passports will be valid through the end of March 2020. The key submission deadlines are as follows:

• Call for abstracts and surgical films: July 17 through Sept. 17, 2019
• International abstract session submission period: July 17 through Nov. 5, 2019
• Late-breaking submissions: Dec. 5, 2019 through Jan. 7, 2020

Registration and housing will open in October.

Responses needed for survey on patient-reported outcomes

On April 23, all SGO Full Members should have received an email from SGO with a link to a brief survey on the role of patient-reported outcomes (PRO) in clinical care and research. The survey is voluntary, anonymous and conducted through Qualtrics with Institutional Review Board (IRB) approval. Whether or not members currently use PRO in their practices, all responses are considered critical responses. The deadline to complete this survey is May 21.


Gynecologic Oncology News Updates

Stay up to date on the latest news from SGO and news from the industry. If you’re a member, make sure your account is signed up for these updates. If you’re not a member, contact us and we’ll add you to our list.