I'm looking for

Cervical Cancer Stages

Staging is a standard way of categorizing cancers that is used to determine prognosis and treatment. The staging for cervical cancer is as follows:

  • Stage I: The cancer is still limited to the cervix
    • IA A microscopic cancer is limited to the cervix and only seen on biopsy.
    • IB Cancer is visible to the naked eye during an exam.
      • IB1: The cancer is smaller than 4 cm.
      • IB2 : The cancer measures larger than 4 cm.
  • Stage II: Cancer has spread beyond the cervix to the side tissue near the cervix or into the top of the vagina.
  • Stage III: Cancer has spread beyond the cervix to the pelvic side wall or has caused swelling or blockage of urine flowing into the bladder or involves the lower vagina.
  • Stage IV: Cancer has spread beyond the cervix or any of the above areas and has involved the bladder, rectum or any distant organ such as the lung or liver.

BACK: Diagnostic Tests
NEXT: Treatment Options

Join SGO Today

What you get out of membership changes your patient’s lives. What you give from your membership changes the world. Join your community today.

Become a Member