Cervical Cancer: Stages

Cervical Cancer

Cervical Cancer Home | General Information | Risk Factors | Symptoms
First Appointment | Diagnostic Tests | Stages | Treatment Options | Post-Treatment

Cervical Cancer Stages

Staging is a standard way of categorizing cancers that is used to determine prognosis and treatment. The staging for cervical cancer is as follows:

  • Stage I: The cancer is still limited to the cervix
    • IA A microscopic cancer is limited to the cervix and only seen on biopsy.
    • IB Cancer is visible to the naked eye during an exam.
      • IB1: The cancer is smaller than 4 cm.
      • IB2 : The cancer measures larger than 4 cm.
  • Stage II: Cancer has spread beyond the cervix to the side tissue near the cervix or into the top of the vagina.
  • Stage III: Cancer has spread beyond the cervix to the pelvic side wall or has caused swelling or blockage of urine flowing into the bladder or involves the lower vagina.
  • Stage IV: Cancer has spread beyond the cervix or any of the above areas and has involved the bladder, rectum or any distant organ such as the lung or liver.

Back: What tests might your gynecologic oncologist perform to determine treatment?
Next: What are the treatment options?