I'm looking for

All News

Winners of SGO 2020-2021 Awards Announced

News Releases
Mar 24, 2021
Winners of SGO 2020-2021 Awards Announced

The Society of Gynecologic Oncology (SGO) is pleased to announce the winners of their 2020-2021 honors and awards. SGO awards individuals whose efforts have made an impact on the prevention, care and treatment of gynecologic cancers in four different categories. The Annual Meeting on Women’s Cancer Awards acknowledge scientific research that has been presented at the SGO Annual Meeting.

Distinguished Service Award

The Distinguished Service Award recognizes individuals who, over an extended period of time, display a continuous outstanding meritorious service in the field of gynecologic oncology.

  • Larry Copeland, MD, The Ohio State University
  • Robert S. Mannel, MD, University of Oklahoma Peggy and Charles Stephenson Cancer Center
Innovation Award

The Innovation Award honors individuals who have been exceptionally creative thinkers that significantly impacted the understanding of or approaches to the prevention, diagnosis or treatment of gynecologic cancers.

  • Gordon B. Mills, MD, PhD, Oregon Health and Science University
  • Kunle O. Odunsi, MD, PhD, Roswell Park Cancer Institute
  • Elizabeth M. Swisher, MD, University of Washington Medical Center
Harry J. Long Multidisciplinary Award

The Harry Long Multidisciplinary Award recognizes outstanding SGO members for their contributions to multidisciplinary mentorship, collegiality or teaching in the field of gynecologic oncology.

  • Charles R. Boice, MD, MedStar Health
  • Rebecca C. Arend, MD, MSPH, University of Alabama at Birmingham
  • James W. Orr, MD, Florida Gynecologic Oncology
Humanitarianism & Volunteerism Award

The Humanitarianism & Volunteerism Award is awarded to an individual for their exemplary local, national or international volunteer and outreach efforts in gynecologic cancer care, research or training.

  • Amelia Jernigan, MD, FACOG, LSU Health New Orleans
  • Nathalie D. McKenzie, MD, MSPH, AdventHealth Orlando
Annual Meeting on Women’s Cancer Awards

2021 Annual Meeting Presidential Award
Leeya F. Pinder, MD, MPH, University of Washington
For their abstract: Randomized control trial of thermal ablation of the cervix in women living with the human immunodeficiency virus in Zambia

2020 Annual Meeting Best Basic Science Poster
Mary Mullen, MD, Washington University School of Medicine in St. Louis
For their abstract: Inducing ‘BRCAness’ by inhibiting the GAS6/AXL pathway in high-grade serous ovarian cancer

2020 Annual Meeting Best Clinical Practice Poster
Tara Castellano, MD, The University of Oklahoma Health Sciences Center
For their abstract: Does the presence of nodal micrometastases or isolated tumor cells increase the risk of recurrent endometrioid adenocarcinoma? A case control study.

Please accept [renew_consent]%cookie_types[/renew_consent] cookies to watch this video.